Skip to main content
West Michigan Chess

Tony Palmer

Go Search
West Michigan's Top 40
West Michigan's Top Juniors
Michigan's Top 100

Other Blogs
There are no items in this list.
West Michigan Chess > Authors > Tony Palmer > Posts > Holland Junior Open
Holland Junior Open
42 juniors competed at Holland Christian High School on March 24, 2012 in the second annual Holland Junior Open, organized by David and Tamara Posthuma coordinated the planning and preparation, while the four Sections were very smoothly run by Tournament Directors Eugene Brumley and Derrick Baker. The players displayed admirable fighting spirit along with very good sportsmanship, and everyone had a great time. This year's event had increased emphasis on taking notation, so juniors could learn from their games. As an added bonus, anyone with a perfect score (5/5) would receive a free semester in the Holland Scholastic Chess Training program, and Malachi Jobin was the only player with five wins.

Congratulations to Isaac Zylstra for winning the Top Rated Section for the second time, and Malachi Jobin won the Reserve Rated Section. Luke Klein and Joseph Klein took First Place in their Sections, and Nick Barr won the K-2 Section. Special thanks to Gold Sponsor Haworth Corporation for their continued sponsorship, along with Silver Sponsors Servinsky Engineering and Dr. Tony Palmer for generously supporting and promoting the Holland Junior Open.

The Section winners and their prizes:

Top Rated Section:

1) Isaac Zylstra – First Place trophy, $20 prize money, chess set

2) Andrew Schremser – Second Place trophy, $15 prize money

3) Joshua Posthuma – Third Place trophy

4) Joshua Vander Meulen – Fourth Place medal

5) Karthik Vuyyuru – Fifth Place medal

Reserve Rated Section:

1) Malachi Jobin – First Place trophy, $20 prize money, chess set, free term in Holland Scholastic Chess Training for a perfect score

2) Daruri Dakshesh – Second Place trophy, $15 prize money

3) Ben Hylen – Third Place trophy

4) Preston Johnson – Fourth Place medal

5) Andre Oravitan – Fifth Place medal

Unrated 7-8 Section:

1) Luke Klein – First Place trophy, chess set

2) Keith Takens – Second Place trophy

Unrated 3-6 Section:

1) Joseph Klein – First Place trophy, chess set

2) Kaleb Packard – Second Place trophy

3) Noah DeHollander – Third Place trophy

4) Joe Barr – Fourth Place medal

5) Abhisek Pusty – Fifth Place medal

Unrated K-2 Section:

1) Nick Barr – First Place trophy, chess set

2) Allen Eich – Second Place trophy

3) Charlie Reese – Third Place trophy

4) Constantin Stanescu-Bellu – Fourth Place medal

5) Sarah Alferink – Fifth Place medal

All participants were awarded an event ribbon for attending, and players in the two rated sections received the latest Lake Effect Chess Newsletter to review and study. Thanks to everyone who made the second Holland Junior Open such a success!


There are no comments yet for this post.